Spending My Summer With Franciscan Action Network

By Sophie Meacham

Franciscan Action Network is very blessed to work each year with at least one person in our offices in the form of Internships. These bright young people help us to accomplish many tasks while gaining valuable experience in the Grassroots Organizing and non-profit fields. Our most recent intern, Sophie Meacham had these words about her experience with us.

Sophie Meacham

Sophie Meacham

l had a wonderful time interning at FAN. I found my work both challenging and purposeful. My experiences at FAN proved that 1) I am more technologically savvy than I realized and 2) you can always make positive change no matter how big or small you are.

Before my internship, I had no idea how to create a database or much less use Excel. But I ended up figuring it out and then doing more like editing a Google Map for the FAN website and creating a FAN Wikipedia page. Although, I would never have been successful it weren’t the helpful guidance and advice I received from the other FAN employees.

l also appreciated that the FAN employees were interested in what l was interested in and gave me opportunities to see my interests come to life. The morning and afternoon I spent on Capitol Hill going to two separate meetings on Immigration Reform let me see how my passion for social justice as well as participation in government could be used in productive and influential ways. l very much appreciate that invitation and l will not soon forget it.

All in all, my time at FAN seemed too short. I would have loved to continue working and I think I could have learned much more. But what l have already learned is invaluable and I am so thankful for the opportunity.

 

Published in: on August 14, 2013 at 1:00 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://franciscanaction.wordpress.com/2013/08/14/fan-internship-experience-review/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Thank you Sophie, for sharing your experience. Yes, there is much to do, but also much to be gained from being available to others. Thank you for your dedication.

    Sister Carmela Trujillo O.S.F., Mount Saint Francis, Colorado Springs, CO

    ________________________________


Leave a Reply

