Hope during death and decay

Messy Jesus Business

An Ebola epidemic.

Beheadings. Bombings.

War. Violence. Obituaries.

We don’t have to go deep into the headlines to know that death and despair surround us. Our human family is suffering intensely. We all are.

When I really let myself feel it, I squirm. Awareness of injustice gnaws at my edges, compelling me to feel uncomfortable with the peace and security that I enjoy daily. The thickness of sorrow stews in my praying heart. Intercessory prayers begging the madness to end pour out of me; these prayers seem to be stuck on repeat.

Then, a message from an ancient prophet quiets me:

On this mountain he will destroy
the veil that veils all peoples,
the web that is woven over all nations;
he will destroy death forever.
The Lord GOD will wipe away
the tears from every face;
the reproach of his people he will remove
from the whole earth; for the LORD has spoken.

View original post 286 more words

Published in: on October 10, 2014 at 4:50 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://franciscanaction.wordpress.com/2014/10/10/hope-during-death-and-decay/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Thanks for sharing my writing! Blessings!!!


Leave a Reply

