Take and Eat; Take and Drink

Reflection for the Feast of the Most Holy Body and Blood of Christ written by Janine Walsh, FAN Communications Coordinator

This reflection was originally posted in our June 1st Newsletter

 

“…how much more with the blood of Christ…cleanse our consciences from dead works to worship the living God.” Heb. 9

This week’s readings focus on the Most Holy Body and Blood of Christ. A simple meal, shared in community at Mass reminds us of Jesus’ sacrifice for us and the new covenant with God he made on our behalf. His suffering and death on the cross delivers us from our sin and “dead works.” It seems such a simple concept, and yet much time can be spent pondering the theology. However, I prefer to think of it in simpler terms.

In the first reading, we witness the original covenant at its birth. Moses, after reading the scripture to the people, sealed their promise to observe all the prescriptions of the Lord with sacrifice and animal blood. In the Gospel, Jesus explains the New Covenant, and how it is achieved through his own body and blood. The New Covenant is a fulfillment of the covenant sealed by Moses.

Many times through the course of my life I have faltered in my faith. Last week, Sr. Marie wrote a beautiful reflection about the Gift of Doubt. I identified with it very much, because I am human and my faith has not been strong and steady every moment of my life. I have had my share of doubt. The one thing that continually brings me back on to my spiritual journey is the Eucharist. Eucharist is a gift freely given by God to constantly remind us of his love, summed up beautifully by the Communion antiphon: “Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood remains in me and I in him, says the Lord.”

How I cherish this gift.

Janine Walsh

FAN Communications Coordinator

Published in: on June 2, 2015 at 9:07 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://franciscanaction.wordpress.com/2015/06/02/take-and-eat-take-and-drink/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

