Who do you say that I am?

Reflection for the 12th Sunday of Ordinary Time by FAN board member, Sr. Maryann Mueller, CSSF

This reflection was originally posted in our June 13th newsletter


“Who do you say that I am?” (Lk.9:20) The answer to this question of Jesus to his disciples, walking_awayboth of 2,000 years ago and of today, defines the meaning of our lives, why we do what we do.

Who do you say that I am?

Sound bites from politicians promote assumptions that my family came to this country to terrorize and to hurt people. My family is among the more than half of the population in our country displaced because of civil war. Who do you say that I am?

My new neighbors protest my arrival and shout that I need to return to my country. I fled our country after I witnessed my mother and siblings being tortured and killed by local gangs. I will certainly be murdered if I return to the land of my birth. Who do you say that I am?

The media portrays me as a foreigner and as a prostitute. I am a 15 year old girl who was sold by my family at the age of 10 to an “employer” to help provide food for my family. I never saw my family again. Who do you say that I am?

In this week’s readings, Paul challenges that “through faith you are all children of God in Christ Jesus….” (Gal 3: 26) Our baptismal mandate calls us to allow each person to be whom he or she is, a person made in the image and likeness of God. St. Paul teaches us that naming and seeking to correct divisions in society have always been the work and responsibility of Christians. We have no option but to feel uncomfortable and to speak out whenever we hear other human beings demonized. With the election season upon us it may be a good time to recommit to the Franciscan Commitment to Civility in Discourse.

Jesus lived his life trying to make individuals and communities whole, striving to be inclusive of all. Jesus assures us “a spirit of grace” (Zec. 12:10) so we become aware of how we may be perpetuating exclusivity. Let us pray that this spirit of grace also impels us to develop a deeper commitment to address injustice and bigotry in our world.

Sr. Maryann Mueller, CSSF
FAN Board Member

Published in: on June 14, 2016 at 9:32 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://franciscanaction.wordpress.com/2016/06/14/who-do-you-say-that-i-am/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

