Walking to Our Emmaus

Reflection for the Third Sunday of Easter by FAN Director of Advocacy, Sr. Maria Orlandini

This reflection was originally posted in our April 24th newsletter


Walking.pathOne of the things I really enjoy is walking. Some of my deepest insights have come to me while walking. Walking clears my head and allows me to see more clearly what the next step could be. The same is true when I walk with someone. It can lead to sharing things we are not able to say when face to face. Walking on the road to Emmaus can lead to “conversing about all the things that had occurred.”

I see this Sunday’s readings not only as the disciples’ chance to say what really is going on with Jesus, who he really is, but also an invitation to talk about what is happening within each of us.

In the reading from the book of Acts (2:14, 22-23), Peter tells his audience what was in his heart about Jesus and how important He was to him. He does the same in his letter first letter, telling his readers to “conduct yourself with reverence” because we are made for things much bigger than we can imagine and the resurrection of Jesus confirms it.

By approaching and walking with the two disciples on the way to Emmaus, Jesus gave them the chance to say what was in their hearts, to vent their frustration and fear: “Are you the only visitor to Jerusalem who does not know of the things that have taken place there in these days?” They only needed to be asked “what sort of things?” to open the floodgates, so to speak, and pour out their heart to a stranger, trying to make sense as they spoke of what happened to Jesus the Nazarene.

I would like to have a walk with Jesus this spring. So many things have happened, and there are so many questions about what is going on in our country and the world that it would only take the question, “What is going on, what are you troubled about as you walk?” for me to blurt out, “Are you the only one who does not know what is happening? What has happened in the past few months and how many people are struggling, me included, trying to make sense of it all?” I for sure could speak much longer than the length of the journey from Jerusalem to Emmaus. Why are we in this particular moment of history, and what is my role in it? How willing am I to believe that I am born anew in the blood of the Lamb each day?

Every day I take my walk with Jesus in prayer to confirm myself in the resolution that being a disciple is not a done deal. It is walking every moment in the awareness of being part of the journey of the world and that I have my little step to make. It is believing that I need to say who Jesus is for me, sometimes with more readiness. It is believing that I /we need a community that listens. One where we feed each other with hope and courage as well as being fed with the Bread and Wine of life. Being a disciple is having my heart burning within me, especially when I speak on behalf of refugees, immigrants, and trafficked persons; when I speak of gun violence, climate justice, and an economy that puts revenue at the top instead of people. Jesus walks with us this Easter season to remind us that the journey is long, but that on life’s journey we are not alone. We walk together, we have people to talk to, we can take time and invite others to “stay with us for it is nearly evening and the day is almost over,” so to refresh ourselves and recommit our lives to go out and spread the news that the Lord is truly risen. Alleluia!

Sr. Maria Orlandini
FAN Director of Advocacy

Published in: on April 25, 2017 at 11:29 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://franciscanaction.wordpress.com/2017/04/25/walking-to-our-emmaus/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

